01423 5637680

Lifelong Learning

View navigation


Italian Intermediate term 3

spanish food

Start date: 22nd Apr 2021

Time: 09:30 - 11:00

Cost: £71

Day: Thursday

Duration: 10 weeks

Tutor: Mel Criddle

Course code: 21SU061

The course is divided into three terms (10 weeks each term) and by the end of the three terms students should be able to:

• Understand key points when clear, standard language is used and the focus is on familiar topics associated with work, school, leisure time, etc.
• Understand key points from radio or TV programmes on current affairs or topics of personal interest when the delivery is relatively slow.
• Deal with most situations typically encountered when travelling in the language region.
• Express him/herself simply and coherently regarding familiar topics and areas of personal interest.
• Enter unprepared into conversation on topics which are familiar or of personal interest.
• In the spoken production, report on experiences and events by connecting phrases in a simple way.
• Describe ideal holidays as well as make short statements to justify or explain his/her own views and plans.
• Give reasons and opinions.
• Talk and summarise a book and or film and describe his/her reaction.
• Write simple connected text on topics which are familiar or of personal interest.

Back to all courses   Print page


Mel Criddle

My name is Melanie Criddle, I am originally from Leicester, but have lived in Harrogate for 3 years.

My love for languages started when I was at school, where I studied French and German. My father’s family originate from Barga, a small town in Tuscany so I was always keen to learn Italian as well.

I went on to study French, Italian and Business at Leeds Beckett University.

I have spent some time living and working in Italy, including as an EFL teacher in the beautiful city of Bologna. Over the years I have used my language skills in various job roles, including translating, exam marking, and most recently as a secondary school teacher of MFL. I have now settled in Harrogate with my husband and two young children.

See Mel Criddle's other courses >